New Youth PROMISE Act Co-sponsors!

Call and Write Congress Today

YPA-main-2014-peacebuilding_vs2_150Momentum is really picking up with the Youth PROMISE Act.  In the last few weeks, five new co-sponsors have signed on in the U.S. House of Representatives, including 2 Republicans!  That brings our total to 105 signed on in the House, 6 of whom are Republican.

While there aren’t any recent new co-sponsors officially in the Senate, momentum is clearly building due to some important behind the scenes activities.  We hope to see action there soon and you can help with the push to help our kids.


Sign the petition today, sending messages to your Members of Congress

Call Members of Congress:

It’s quick and easy!

Start with your Members of the House of Representatives.  See the list of co-sponsors below.  If your Member is already a co-sponsor, call to thank them for their support (we need champions behind the bill, all efforts help).  If they are not listed, call them and urge them to get on board by becoming a co-sponsor.

Find your Members at this link. The direct phone numbers will show up.

You can also call the Capitol Switchboard at: (202) 224-3121


  • My name is _______. I am a constituent calling today to urge the Senator/Congressperson  to co-sponsor the Youth PROMISE Act, S. 1307 (Senate) or H.R. 1318 (House).
  • For SENATORS: It’s sponsored by Senators Mary Landrieu and James Inhofe.
  • For HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES: It’s sponsored by Rep. Bobby Scott and Walter Jones.
  • The Youth Promise Act prevents youth violence and puts at-risk youth on paths towards education and careers.
  • It uses evidence based programs chosen by local communities that save money and have already been proven to work.
  • For these reasons, I think the Senator/Congressmember should sign on as a Co-sponsor of the Youth PROMISE Act.

Thanks for your support.  Together, we will help get this passed into law.



Find out who your elected is here (alphabetical, last name)

House Sponsor:
Rep Scott, Bobby [VA-3] (D) (introduced 3/21/2013)

Cosponsors (104):

Rep Jones, Walter B., Jr. [NC-3] (R) – 3/21/2013
Rep Bachus, Spencer [AL-6] (R) – 11/21/2013
Rep King, Peter T. [NY-2] (R) – 10/23/2013
Rep Petri, Thomas E. [WI-6] (R) – 3/13/2014
Rep Stockman, Steve [TX-36] (R) – 3/13/2014
Rep Terry, Lee [NE-2] (R) – 11/13/2013
Rep Bass, Karen [CA-37] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Beatty, Joyce [OH-3] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Bishop, Sanford D., Jr. [GA-2] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Blumenauer, Earl [OR-3] (D) – 10/11/2013
Rep Bonamici, Suzanne [OR-1] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Bordallo, Madeleine Z. [GU] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Brady, Robert A. [PA-1] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Brown, Corrine [FL-5] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Brownley, Julia [CA-26] (D) – 7/24/2013
Rep Butterfield, G. K. [NC-1] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Capuano, Michael E. [MA-7] (D) – 12/03/2013
Rep Cardenas, Tony [CA-29] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Carney, John C., Jr. [DE] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Carson, Andre [IN-7] (D)  – 7/16/2013
Rep Cartwright, Matt [PA-17] (D)  – 10/16/2013
Rep Castor, Kathy [FL-14] (D) – 7/18/2013
Rep Christensen, Donna M. [VI] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Chu, Judy [CA-27] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Clark, Katherine M. [MA-5] (D) – 3/04/2014
Rep Clarke, Yvette D. [NY-9] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Clay, Wm. Lacy [MO-1] (D) – 8/1/2013
Rep Cleaver, Emanuel [MO-5] (D)  – 4/9/2013
Rep Cohen, Steve [TN-9] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Connolly, Gerald E. [VA-11] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Conyers, John, Jr. [MI-13] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Courtney, Joe [CT-2] (D) – 01/07/2014
Rep Cummings, Elijah E. [MD-7] (D) – 4/9/2013
Rep Davis, Danny K. [IL-7] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Davis, Susan A. [CA-53] (D) – 6/3/2013
Rep DeGette, Diana [CO-1] (D)  – 4/24/2013
Rep DeLauro, Rosa L. [CT-3] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Doyle, Michael F. [PA-14] (D) – 3/13/2014
Rep Edwards, Donna F. [MD-4] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Ellison, Keith [MN-5] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Esty, Elizabeth H. [CT-5] (D) – 7/9/2013
Rep Fudge, Marcia L. [OH-11] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Green, Al [TX-9] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Grijalva, Raul M. [AZ-3] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Hahn, Janice [CA-44] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Hastings, Alcee L. [FL-20] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Higgins, Brian [NY-26] (D) – 6/3/2013
Rep Hinojosa, Ruben [TX-15] (D) – 4/26/2013
Rep Honda, Michael M. [CA-17] (D) – 9/12/2013
Rep Holt, Rush [NJ-12] (D) – 10/10/2013
Rep Huffman, Jared [CA-2] (D) – 9/30/2013
Rep Johnson, Eddie Bernice [TX-30] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Johnson, Henry C. “Hank,” Jr. [GA-4] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Kelly, Robin L. [IL-2] (D) – 7/25/2013
Rep Kennedy, Joseph P. III [MA-4] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Kildee, Daniel T [MI-5] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Larson, John B. [CT-1] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Lee, Barbara [CA-13] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Lewis, John [GA-5] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Levin, Sander M. [MI-9] (D) – 10/7/2013
Rep Lofgren, Zoe [CA-19] (D) – 2/28/2014
Rep Lowenthal, Alan S. [CA-47] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Lujan, Ben Ray [NM-3] (D) – 6/26/2013
Rep Lynch, Stephen F. [MA-8] (D)  – 4/9/2013
Rep Maloney, Carolyn B. [NY-12]] (D)  – 11/20/2013
Rep Matsui, Doris O. [CA-6] (D)  – 6/11/2013
Rep McGovern, James P. [MA-2] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Meeks, Gregory W. [NY-5] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Moore, Gwen [WI-4] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Moran, James P. [VA-8] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Murphy, Patrick [FL-18] (D)  – 10/22/2013
Rep Nadler, Jerrold [NY-10] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Napolitano, Grace F. [CA-32] (D) – 4/24/2013
Rep Neal, Richard E. [MA-1] (D) – 8/1/2013
Rep Negrete McLeod, Gloria [CA-35] (D) – 12/16/2013
Rep Norton, Eleanor Holmes [DC] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Pascrell, Bill, Jr. [NJ-9] (D) – 10/10/2013
Rep Payne, Donald M., Jr. [NJ-10] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Peters, Gary C. [MI-14] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Pocan, Mark [WI-2] (D) – 10/16/2013
Rep Polis, Jared [CO-2] (D)  – 4/26/2013
Rep Quigley, Mike [IL-5] (D) – 9/12/2013
Rep Rangel, Charles B. [NY-13] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Richmond, Cedric L. [LA-2] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Rush, Bobby L. [IL-1] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Ryan, Tim [OH-13] (D) – 10/2/2013
Rep Schakowsky, Janice D. [IL-9] (D) – 9/12/2013
Rep Schiff, Adam B. [CA-28] (D) – 5/15/2013
Rep Serrano, Jose E. [NY-15] (D) – 12/12/2013
Rep Sewell, Terri A. [AL-7] (D)  – 8/1/2013
Rep Shea-Porter, Carol [NH-1] (D) – 9/20/2013
Rep Sires, Albio [NJ-8] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Slaughter, Louise McIntosh [NY-25] (D)  – 10/16/2013
Rep Thompson, Bennie G. [MS-2] (D)  – 12/02/2013
Rep Thompson, Mike [CA-5] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Tsongas, Niki [MA-3] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Vargas, Juan [CA-51] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Van Hollen, Chris [MD-8] (D) – 9/20/2013
Rep Wasserman Schultz, Debbie [FL-23] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Waters, Maxine [CA-43] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Watt, Melvin L. [NC-12] (D) – 3/21/2013
Rep Waxman, Henry A. [CA-33] (D) – 9/18/2013
Rep Wilson, Frederica S. [FL-24] (D)  – 3/21/2013
Rep Yarmuth, John A. [KY-3] (D)  – 4/11/2013

Senate Sponsor:
Sen Landrieu, Mary L. [LA] (D) (introduced 7/16/2013)

Cosponsors (3):

Sen Inhofe, James M. [OK] (R) – 7/16/2013
Sen Kaine, Tim [VA] (D) – 9/12/2013
Sen. Durbin, Richard [IL] (D) – 11/19/2013

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

© 2020 The Peace Alliance | Designed by Clean Slate Webs